It’s no secret GoogleAnd other large technology companies, Know a lot about you. It may be much more than you think. While this is indeed creepy in general, sometimes it can produce excellent results briefly before returning to creepy. Case in point: You can start a new year by tracking Google Maps.
If found 9to5Google, Google Maps is currently rolling out its “2020 timeline update”, which is an email that will give you detailed information about the places you have been based on your location history. The export note states that although the summary is also provided once a month, the 2020 update will show your travel habits throughout the year.
Yes, 2020 is the year of the coronavirus pandemic, which has severely affected overall travel and activities, and Google recognizes this.
The email read: “COVID-19 has changed global travel in 2020, how many places people can visit.” “If you can travel this year, you can see some places you’ve been through this automatic timeline email. ”
Although our travel lifestyle is hampered by the pandemic, it is still interesting to see where we actually go. According to 9to5Google, this update includes a map containing the cities and places you’ve been to, and a new area called “Trends.” This section tells you the types of places you have been to, such as where you went to a store or eaten. The timeline of Google Maps can also let you know how many miles you have walked and drove.
In order to use this feature, you obviously must enable “Location History” in your Google account settings. (I didn’t, that’s why I stupidly searched for this overview for a long time without getting any results). However, if you enable other settings like “Web and App Activity Recording”, even if you pause your location history or delete your location data, Google will still save your location data when you use its websites, apps, and services. the company’s stand by Number of pages The function.
Google stated that you can edit the timeline or delete the location history and its time range at any time on the support page of the feature.
Thankfully, Google says that not everyone can see your timeline. It is private and only you can see it on mobile devices and desktops.
All in all, it’s both cool and creepy. You decide how this feature makes you feel. Maybe you really like to see your data being destroyed like this.However, if you don’t, you can always Turn it off.