قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Science / Watch SpaceX launch GPS III satellite for US Space Force live broadcast-TechCrunch

Watch SpaceX launch GPS III satellite for US Space Force live broadcast-TechCrunch



Space X The Falcon 9 rocket will be launched today from Cape Canaveral Air Force Base in Florida. The launch is scheduled for 3:55 p.m. EDT (12:55 p.m. PST), and a 15-minute window will open at that time. If you need to postpone the launch, there will be a spare opportunity to return at any time on Wednesday, July 1. The rocket carried a GPS III space vehicle, named “Catherine Johnson”

; after a NASA mathematician, and he played an important role in the Mercury, Apollo and Space Shuttle programs.

Today’s release will add another GPS Three satellites of the US Space Force’s existing space GPS assets, including three satellites that are already in orbit, will be deployed in 2022. The accuracy of this third-generation GPS satellite has tripled, and its flexibility has increased eight times. It has a greater ability to resist gaming than previous versions. In addition to military and defense applications, GPS III satellites will also contribute to satellite navigation based on civilian GPS.

The launch will include the use of SpaceX’s “Just Read the Instructions” drone to land on the Falcon 9 booster over the Atlantic.

In the past month, SpaceX’s launch schedule has been very busy, including the historic first manned space shuttle launch on May 30, and astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley boarded space. Subsequently, it launched two Starlink missions to increase its low-Earth orbit broadband constellation, and carried out another plan last week, which eventually had to be postponed to today’s flight.

The webcast will start playing about 15 minutes before the release time, so it starts at 3:40 PM Eastern Time (12:40 PM Pacific Time)


Source link