The FAQ page states that WhatsApp will not delete the accounts of users who do not accept the new terms, but they will not be able to use it as usual.
“If you have not accepted at that time, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you must accept to have all the features of WhatsApp. In a short period of time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to access them from the application. Read or send messages.” WhatsApp wrote.
“In order to maintain security, limit data retention and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are usually deleted after 120 days of inactivity,” WhatsApp pointed out. “Before deleting the account, the content stored locally on the user’s device before the account is deleted will be retained until WhatsApp is deleted from the device.” When the user re-registers for WhatsApp on the same device, their locally stored content will be renewed appear. “
“Ultimately, we will start reminding people to review and accept these updates to continue using WhatsApp,” WhatsApp said.
Interestingly, WhatsApp mentioned in the announcement that it is very important to let people know “how do we provide WhatsApp for free”. The company said it charges companies to provide “customer service” on the app and has Facebook involved so that companies can manage their inventory across apps.