قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Technology / Google Photos will terminate its free unlimited storage space on June 1, 2021

Google Photos will terminate its free unlimited storage space on June 1, 2021



After five years of providing “high-quality” unlimited free photo backups, once the account has used more than 15 gigs, Google Photos will start charging for storage. The changes will be made on June 1, 2021, and will be accompanied by other Google Drive policy changes, such as counting Google Workspace documents and spreadsheets within the same limit. Google also introduced a new policy that deletes data in inactive accounts that have not logged in for at least two years.

All photos and documents uploaded before June 1st will Do not Count the 15GB limit, so you have enough time to decide whether to continue using Google Photos or switch to another cloud storage provider to get photos.Upload photos only Rear The calculation of the upper limit will begin on June 1

.

Google has counted “original quality” photo uploads into the storage space limit of Google Photos. However, the cancellation of unlimited backups of “high-quality” photos and videos (which are automatically compressed to improve storage efficiency) will also cancel one of the service’s biggest selling points. In the photo service, you don’t have to worry about how much storage space you have.

By the way, Pixel owners can still upload high-quality (non-original) photos for free after June 1, and these photos will not exceed the upper limit. It’s not as good as the Pixel’s original deal for unlimited raw quality, but for the few people who buy Google devices, it’s a big bonus.

Google points out that it offers more free storage space-you can get 15GB of storage space instead of the insignificant 5GB provided by Apple iCloud-and it also claims that 80% of Google Photos users will not reach 15GB for at least three years storage.

When you start to approach the upper limit, the company will send alerts and warnings. Google has also added new storage management tools to Google Photos, including a tool that makes it easier to find and delete photos you might not want at all, such as blurry images or screenshots.

Google will also show a more useful “personalized estimate” based on the duration of the storage layer (rather than gigabytes). It estimates the average upload volume of each user over time to guess how long they will be able to use the current layer.

Why change? One possibility is that this is part of a larger effort to get more people to sign up for Google One storage. The service now includes a free Android VPN at some of its higher levels, and it seems that many Google products are consistent with Google One. Google’s explanation in a short interview is relatively simple: almost incredible photos and videos have been uploaded to Google Photos, and the service must be sustainable. If you want to read the essence of his blog post, here are the main points:

Today, Google Photos stores more than 4 trillion photos, and 28 billion new photos and videos are uploaded every week. Since many of you rely on Google Photos to store your memories, it is important that it is not only a great product, but it can also meet your needs in the long term. To welcome you to leave more memories and build Google Photos for the future, we are changing the unlimited high-quality storage policy.

The price of Google One has not changed. Its starting price is $1.99/month (100GB), and the tiers are 200GB ($2.99/month), 2TB ($9.99/month), and up to 30TB ($149.99/month).

In addition to photos, “Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Engineering Drawings, Sheets and Jamboard Files” will also start to count towards the maximum storage space. Google said that the reason for this is to “make our policies more in line with industry standards.” (This puts an end to very clever hackers such as these who use binary conversion tools to convert files into Google Docs.)

As for the invalid account policy, this seems quite reasonable: if you haven’t touched your Google account for two years and have not responded to multiple warning emails and notifications sent to you by Google, the company may delete Your account. Google’s explanation is as follows:

If you do not use one or more of these services within two years (24 months), Google may delete the content of your inactive products. […] Similarly, if you exceed the storage limit for two years, Google may delete the contents of Gmail, Drive and Photos.

Before attempting to delete any content, we will notify you multiple times so that you have ample opportunity to take action. The easiest way to keep your account active is to periodically access Gmail, Drive or Photos on the web or mobile device after logging in and connecting to the Internet.


Source link